The T-Bone Effect: Issue 16 (AR Athletic Commission and Hiatus)

Hello everyone and welcome back to my latest wrestling blog here on the T-Bone Effect. This has been an interesting couple of months watching what has unfolded with the Athletic Commission here in Arkansas. There was some confusion as who was shutting down and who wasn’t. I’ve been told that it was only four weekly promotions in the State. I’m not entirely sure who is down and who isn’t.

I am disappaointed in some of them for not paying the fees required to operate. I’m not saying that it’s right what they charge but it’s the law. Promoters that I know where unaffected were Traditional Championship Wrestling and Magic of Wrestling. Both companies complied with the Athletic Commissions rules and regulations. I am glad to see that some promotions were able to comply.

I have seen some workers voicing their opinions about the Athletic Commision and defending some promotions. I’m not going to downgrade them for defending their home promotion. I will however say why would you be concerned with the fees involved beyond your license fee? Its not like your having to pay the $50 event fee, $5000 surety bond, insurance, or the 5-10% door fee. The promoter is the one responsible for these fees.

The promoter is responsible for those fees, responsible for knowing the rules and regulations of the Athletic Commission, and making sure your licensed as well before performing. The promoter is the only one to blame for you having no place to work. I understand times are tough and they are I know, but if it was not financially sound for them to run every week because of the cost, why not cut back? Weekly shows in the same location are becoming a thing of the past especially when it’s the same crew weeks after week.

Not saying that it’s because they may be bad but in the eyes of the fans you loose your appeal when your seen every week. If you were to see The Rock every week for 52 weeks a year he would lose his appeal, right? Right. Don’t give me this bologna, “Well the WWE can do it!” that’s because they are in different venues every week and not the same place.

I don’t like having to pay for an Announcers license considering I am not a competitor or official. However, it’s the rules and if you want to work, as an any job, you must follow the rules. The Atheletic Commission has scheduled a public meeting on Feburary 9th at 11:00am at 6325 Baseline Rd, Little Rock, AR at the Dee Brown Library. Remember if you go, don’t think because you show up they will let you speak. If you want to voice your opinion you must be put on the agenda.

Now that that’s out of the way, I want to formally congratulate Big Dave on his win as WrestlingNewsCenter.com’s Announcer of the Year Award. Some people were voicing their concerns on how the voting was stuffed with votes from a certain promotion, wait isn’t that what you do in every poll you participate in? Try to get as many votes for your favorite? Anyways congrats Big Dave and good luck next year.

I will be taking a hiatus from wrestling until further notice why I take care of my personal life. Between my job, wrestling, and other jobs I ran my self ragged. Those of you who know me on a personal level probably know I’m a God fearing man and believe that Christ died for me and my sins on the cross. I gave my life to Christ when I was 11 years old. Unfortunately between my parents divorcing and struggling financially for five years I got lost from God’s flock. I cursed, sinned, and kept pushing him away. I finally tripped over myself in doing my own will that I finally got a wake up call. I have changed my life to put him first now and not the material possessions. So for the time being I am turning off the microphone and leaving the announce desk until further notice. So that I can take a closer walk with God. I will continue to update my blog every once and a while as I can. I want to thank everyone who has ever supported me and lifted me up.

On a last note if your going thru that trial in your life I hope this helps.

God reminded me that no matter the trial, he’s walking thru it with me. There to comfort and aide me. It’s never easy. He may open one door for everyone he closes that doesnt mean we won’t walk thru hell to our next door.

Psalm 27:1

The LORD is my light and my salvation—

whom shall I fear?

The LORD is the stronghold of my life— of whom shall I be afraid? (NIV)

Isaiah 41:10

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. (NIV)

Have you felt the Effect?

T-Bone

About Terrence Ward

I began my career in professional wrestling 2006 as a cameraman. I would pay my dues setting up rings, cleaning up after shows, and setting up anything and everything. Here we are in this present time and I am an Multi-Time Announcer of the Year with great relationships with pro-wrestlers across the nation. I strive for success and provide my opinion to help those who need it.

Posted on January 20, 2012, in Sponsored Links, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

