TOPIC FOR DISCUSSION: Kayfabe in Independent Wrestling

We were sent this from twitter regarding Kayfabe in today’s business. This is a special guest article from @IndyMania. Enjoy!

T-Bone

______________________________________________________________________
20120224-203124.jpg

First, let me say that this blog is not going to debate whether KAYFABE in Professional Wrestling is dead or alive… opinions vary widely on the topic and that’s up to you to decide. The author has his personal opinions on the matter and you can discuss yours in the COMMENTS section of this blog if you choose.

@IndyMania doesn’t usually discuss WWE on Twitter, but it was recently brought to our attention that the T-shirts displayed in this blog are now available in WWE’s online store. (The link will NOT be posted in this blog or on our Twitter account. You can find it for yourself, if you wish.) Even though the author of this blog admits KAYFABE started dieing on a global level LONG before Dolph Ziggler started wearing “#HEEL” trunks and hoodies on Monday Night Raw, the aforementioned T-shirts being sold by WWE feels like the straw that’s broken the proverbial camel’s back.

Today’s questions / topic for discussion is this:

1.) IF YOU BELIEVE KAYFABE IS DEAD, CAN INDEPENDENT WRESTLING RESURRECT IT? Is there no turning back now? Is it too late?

2.) IF YOU, AS AN INDY WORKER, CHOOSE TO MAINTAIN YOUR OWN PERSONAL KAYFABE, HOW DO YOU DO THAT? Even if you believe Kayfabe, in the broad sense of the term, is dead, how do you maintain your own personal Kayfabe? Or do you even bother trying? How were you trained regarding Kayfabe and do you live up to those teachings to this day? Do you think it’s a waste of time because you’re of the opinion “The fans know it’s fake anyway.” Or, do you stick to your personal beliefs, and what you were taught when you were originally trained, and maintain your own personal Kayfabe no matter what? If so, how do you go about doing that? To what extent / lengths have you gone to maintain Kayfabe. Stories are welcomed.

3.)
a.) HOW DID YOU, AS AN INDEPENDENT WRESTLER / TALENT FEEL WHEN YOU SAW THE NEW WWE T-SHIRTS?
b.) HOW DID YOU, AS A FAN, FEEL WHEN YOU SAW THE NEW WWE T-SHIRTS? WILL YOU BE BUYING THEM?

I stated at the beginning of this blog that I would not be debating whether Kayfabe is dead or not. But, unfortunately, I couldn’t figure out how to write a blog like this without having the undertone of what I’m writing reveal how I feel. If you “read between the lines”, I think you can determine how I feel about the subject. But, that being said, WE, AT @IndyMania, WANT TO HEAR FROM YOU: PEOPLE IN THE BUSINESS as well as FANS. PLEASE LEAVE YOUR OPINIONS, FEELINGS, FRUSTRATIONS (if any), and PERSONAL EXPERIENCES / STORIES.

Finally, before someone mentions it, yes, I realize writing a blog such as this could be considered breaking Kayfabe. I don’t like it any more than you do. (There’s that undertone again. LOL)

Regardless, Kayfabe or not, we will continue to SUPPORT INDEPENDENT WRESTLING, and we hope you will too.

Sincerely,
@IndyMania – #SupportIndyWrestling

Posted on February 25, 2012, in Sponsored Links, Uncategorized, Wrestling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. 1) I don’t know for sure, but it sure smells bad! . . .

    2) as a radio DJ who’s chosen wrestling as my primary medium, there’s little I can really do to maintain kayfabe for my listeners. It’s a safe assumption for me that, any1 who’d listen to a wrestling music & news show, already knows a great deal about wrestling to begin with. But instead of “face” or “heel”, I tend to use “good guy” & “bad guy”

    3) I find their existence humorous enough, I suppose. I’m sure I can find better things to spend my money on, but if WWE wanted to give me 1 to promote it, I certainly won’t turn it down! . . .

Leave a Reply

