Guest Editorial: Do us all a favor….

Note: This was from independent wrestler Syn, who has a big heart and is a wonderful guy to be around. This is worth reading and I felt it would be beneficial for all to give a read.
-Terrence

(Breathing has shortened)….
(Pictures and visions repeating inside)….
(So apprehensive making one fearless)….
(One more time, repeat)….
“Lets kill it out there tonight.”

(Intro) ‘Nobody likes me. No one likes me. But I don’t like them. Nu uh I don’t, I don’t.’

A roar of boos fill the air quicker than I expected. As the anticipation starts to build higher, the more comfortable I get looking at the faces. Nothing gets better than this feeling, knowing my job is done. I’m over. Then, one swift look at the face standing right across from me. Those feelings disappear. I walk away from the thing that I love, thinking is this just a game? Anger and sorrow fill in that hole that was once full of passion. Its time to take it home.

Thats how I feel today with everything. No, this is not a ‘depressing’ blog. More of a reminder; a message; an escape from this world to my world. How can something that I love doing become almost an enemy; a distant friend? Shall we…

I’ve been in the wrestling business for 5 years this week actually. (Feb. 9). I’ve seen some of the craziest, most daring, nastiest, most exciting, most ludicrous act possible in my short time in this business. I’ve been ‘shot’ on, spit on, threatened by workers and fans, caused riots, bloodied to a pulp, battered and bruised, concussed, etc. You name it, its probably happened. I’ve been on the road with some of the best talent in the area. Learning the side of their craft; taking their advice. For the first time, I’ve been so ‘burned out’ on a dream that I’ve had since I was a child because of the guys that don’t respect this business. Respect goes a LONG WAY. It molds you. Don’t believe me, look at me. I’m not saying I’m the most respected guy out there. I’m saying I’m probably the most humble.

What really boils my blood is that how a “”worker”” claims to be a worker when he/she refuses to train, refuses to watch the craft of wrestling, refuses to get appropriate gear, refuses to put someone over, refuses to do a move, (d***, I could go on and on). 5 years in this business and I have not done these things that I’ve named. I busted my a** to get where I am and I will be d***** if I let someone run me down who has been in this for a very short period and a lot of people can back me up on it(I will tag them when I’m done)

Wrestling is always on my mind. I breathe, eat, sleep wrestling. Why? Because I want to get better. Continue to learn. Continue to my dream. Continue to grow as a better person. I may not look like a wrestler. I don’t have a build. I’m not as strong as others but from most of the well known guys such as Brian Christopher, Downtown Bruno, Chase Stevens, Jerry Lawler, Zema Ion. I can work. I have potential to become something greater. I just need a build and continue to learn the most important aspect in wrestling, psychology. Thats my strongest attribute and the learning is never ending.

So why am I writing this blog?

First. When I first got a taste of this business, I was like a vampire. I wanted more. I wanted it all. This was my escape from the real world to a world where I wanted and could be great. I could be someone I never could. Entertain the crowd whether they’re booing, cheering, laughing, etc. Nothing feels better than knowing you did your job and you’ve done it well. Now today’s wrestling seems like some B-horror movie. Pedophiles, child molesters, dope heads, over weighted back road hicks with no gear or experience seems to be over running this business that I love. Do us all a favor and get out! Of course you’re not going to listen. Superstar!

Second. I knew what I was getting into when I broke into this business. I’ve missed funerals, weddings, partys, family functions because of the thing that I love to do. Wrestle. Do I regret missing any of it? No. Do I wish some things would have turned out differently than what they have done? Of course. My grandfather, someone that got me into wrestling when I was a child battled cancer a year before my break through. I didn’t spend any time with him because I was on the road, wrestling, learning. I can’t rewind time and go back. I know he’s proud. What exactly all of these new guys I see around expect when they got into this? Its not some random basketball game hoping you have downs the next round. When you step into the business, you are making a committment to the business and to yourself. This is not a game. Step into the ring with a veteran and play it as a game. That would be fun to watch. If you think this is a game to play with, do us all a favor, GET OUT of this business.

Third. Training is essential. Don’t think just because you’re still in training you’re just a downgrade to this business. I still train. I like to expand my knowledge on the maneveurs and psychology. NOTHING is wrong with training. Everyone still does it. Even, John Cena, Ziggler, Punk, D Bryan, etc. What makes you think you’re done with training? I was taught you never quit learning in this business and its the truth. Why can’t you all see it?? If you think you’re too good to train, do us all a favor, GET OUT of this business.

I would go on and tell you my story but I’ve already blogged about it and the things I have learned since then, I’d run out of room. I want some input. Give me your thoughts on this. Vets, experienced, greenhorns, etc. This is the point of writing this.

I will get better. I will have the look. I’m more motivated now than I’ve ever been. This ‘quiet’ Syn is dead. Lets see how many people will look differently towards me. Until then….

-Syn

About Terrence Ward

I began my career in professional wrestling 2006 as a cameraman. I would pay my dues setting up rings, cleaning up after shows, and setting up anything and everything. Here we are in this present time and I am an Multi-Time Announcer of the Year with great relationships with pro-wrestlers across the nation. I strive for success and provide my opinion to help those who need it.

Posted on February 15, 2013, in Sponsored Links. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

