The Straight Flush with Pokerface

20130224-201953.jpg

Ok People, I bother doing a lengthy introduction of myself. I will say my name is POKERFACE. That’s right, all capital letters. I’ve been in the wrestling business for a long time. I’ve seen it done, the business end, both the right and wrong way. Not only have I had an opportunity to work in the ring for the “E”, but I’ve also caught a glimpse of their inner workings. I’ve had the opportunity to observe some of the worst and best ran Independent Wrestling companies.

Now having said all that, my true feelings is that wrestling in this area is dead. I say that because of several reasons, THERE ARE NO NEW STARS being made. You have management who are too focused on having the spotlight, that are not willing to step aside or even willing to share it. I’ve seen it for years. Now don’t get me wrong. If management can still be atop guy and run the company, then so be it. The thing is that they must remember, is that you are as only good as your last match, and only as good as your level of competition. I hate wrestling for a company where I’m the only high caliber wrestler there.

I’ve done TV Wrestling locally. The main problem is that the owners and promoters don’t “eat” off of wrestling. Therefore, they primarily “phone” the show in. They just throw match ups together with little or no regard of how the finished product comes across. The same goes for the wrestlers. Very few “eat” off the business, and they don’t take it as serious as they should. Therefore, they “phone it in also.

The majority of wrestlers want to make it to the next level, but they aren’t willing to make the sacrifices it takes. They want top pay, title matches, exposure, and all the fringe benefits, yet the crowd really could care less about them. You have guys who carry themselves as if they can walk on water or like they’ve headlined Wrestlemania, but in reality, they’ve never wrestled further than 100 miles from home, never had adequate TV time, and really don’t “get’ what this business is about.

I’m on a quest to resurrect wrestling in this area. I’m currently a Director for an independent company. There are a lot of inexperienced guys on our roster. My job as the Director is to guide them in the right direction. I not only make the match ups for the company, but I recruit, help train, and get very hands on with all the talent. I teach them about the in-ring aspect of the business, and I also teach them about marketing themselves. I also have “privilege” of having any unproven talent step in the ring with me before we ever consider hiring them.

The content you just read is just some of the issues and concerns that I will address in future articles. Stay tuned, because the best is not yet to come. It’s already here.

-Pokerface

About Terrence Ward

I began my career in professional wrestling 2006 as a cameraman. I would pay my dues setting up rings, cleaning up after shows, and setting up anything and everything. Here we are in this present time and I am an Multi-Time Announcer of the Year with great relationships with pro-wrestlers across the nation. I strive for success and provide my opinion to help those who need it.

Posted on February 24, 2013, in Sponsored Links. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

