Rudy Boy Speaks

It looks like I ruffled some feathers with my blog last week. If I offended you, I’m sorry. The fact is we are a ‘profession’. And there is a standard that we ALL must strive for in our appearance in the ring. Take note I never mentioned anything about the ‘body’ of an individual. That’s a completely different subject.

But how did guys do it for years and years with wrestling gear before WalMart or Hot Topic came around? Every one I know goes away in the end’Earlier this week one of the all time great managers in professional wrestling history passed away.

Bill Moody, aka Percy Pringle aka Paul Bearer left us on the evening of March 5th. I’m a firm believer that some of us were destined to do or be certain things in our lifetime. Bill Moody was Paul Bearer. Can you think of anyone else that could have filled that spot next to the Undertaker, who yet is another individual that was made for that spot.
Percy Pringle was funny, Paul Bearer wasn’t. Paul Bearer was serious and scary. My younger brother would watch World Class Wrestling and laugh at his his actions and facial features.

But Bill Moody was a ‘pro’ all the way. It’s been said by more than one person, I can’t recall ever hearing a bad word said about the man. He treated everyone not like a friend, but a good friend. Once guys got into the machine called WWF/WWE, their attitudes change. Where you were called ‘brother’ one day, you just became ‘what’s up’ once a guy was signed.

I had a little interaction with Bill in World Class Wrestling and way back when, nothing to really brag about, and then he got signed by WWF. The first show I worked with them, I got a smile and a handshake and a short conversation with Bill. In all honesty I was taken back. Still the same guy I thought. And that’s how it always was when I worked with the company on occasion.

I kept in contact with him thru the years thru social media. He missed his wife dearly when she passed on a few years ago. I think of my own mother, and how she copes with the passing of my father. Last year I worked a show in Nashville, Tn for Mike Porter. Bert Prentice and Bill Moody were going to be there. And I was told I was having a match with Aeon Flexx, a friend of Moody’s.

Well, once we met up I got the handshake and we went into conversation. He spoke to me not as a friend, but as a good friend. After the match, Bill called me over and started picking my brain, about how did the kid do, what did I think, and so on.

This guy who has rubbed shoulders with the best of the best is asking ME, how his boy did. I guess what I’m getting at is, my interaction with Bill Moody in the early days was small, but years later, it was as if we had been been good friends all this time.

I guess we have. I read a story about Moody and its funny how he started, and who his friends were. It sets me back when I hear of ‘one of the boys’ passing away. I immediately think of times I spent with them.

I wish there was a way to know when our time is going to come. Not so we can change it, but so I can tell that person ‘Thank You’, that’s all. I knew Bill had been sick. Had been for a while.

I know there are those close to him mourning his loss. I am actually happy for him. His work here is done. He’s touched many lives. When I see Good Morning America and comments are made about how scary he was, I smile. They were wrestling fans too.

Bills no longer sick. He’s with his wife. What a lucky man. And what lucky people we all were that knew him.

Thank You
Rudy Gonzalez
Rudy@thetboneeffect.com

About Terrence Ward

I began my career in professional wrestling 2006 as a cameraman. I would pay my dues setting up rings, cleaning up after shows, and setting up anything and everything. Here we are in this present time and I am an Multi-Time Announcer of the Year with great relationships with pro-wrestlers across the nation. I strive for success and provide my opinion to help those who need it.

Posted on March 8, 2013, in Sponsored Links, Uncategorized, Wrestling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

