The Straight Flush with POKERFACE

Heart and Dues

First of all, this article is what I observe in this particular region. I think a big problem in this business is the lack of heart, dedication, and paying dues. If I’m not mistaken, another writer on this site, Rudy Boy Gonzales, stated how a lot of wrestlers feel as if they are owed something. This is the gospel truth. So many guys feel as if they automatically should “work on top”. They feel as if they should get top pay. They feel as if “Vinnie Mac” himself should come knocking on their door. Truth be told, many of them haven’t paid any real dues.

I stated in my first article to this site, that simply being in the “indies” doesn’t qualify you as paying dues. I personally consider paying dues : Setting up & tearing down the ring, traveling to Lord knows where, for Lord knows how much or how little money, sleeping in your car cause you don’t have money for a hotel., traveling hours & not being paid, sweeping out the ring, setting up and putting away chairs, wrestling more than once for the same meager pay, getting less money than what’s agreed upon, and getting less money than a promoter’s pet, with less talent gets. I could probably name more, but you get my point. I, as well as many others, have and still do all of the afore mentioned. Not to mention, selling our merchandise, hoping we can somehow come out ahead with sales at the end of the night. Some guys feel they are too good too even show proper locker room etiquette. There’s no wonder why these guys have never wrestled or even have a chance of wrestling on another level.

It takes heart to have longevity in this business. That brings up some recent conversations and situations I’ve had recently with a few wrestlers. There’s this female wrestler who is truly one of the “boys”. She travels very long distances alone with a somewhat undependable car, yet she bites the bullet and endures. She charges a fair price for wrestling in these craphole places, yet promoters try to lowball her or don’t wanna pay. From what she told me she charges, the promoters should jump at the opportunity. She says other female wrestlers charge more, but they probably have half the talent. Her charisma alone is worth the money. I’m speaking objectively. Not to mention she’s a mother, and getting paid to wrestle, helps pay the bills. There’s also a second female wrestler that I met through the customs wrestling company I’m affiliated with. At this point, she’s having serious money issues. She has no car, phone is off, and in her words “just broke”. Yet she still tries to make it to wrestling events to make a little income as well, as try to scrap up gas money to pay someone to drive her an hour away, so she can continue training in the ring, so that she may get better. A few weeks back, one of the guys who wrestles for me, needed a ride to our event. I told him to meet me at my home. This guy was about to walk 5 miles, while it was snowing, with his bags in tow, to meet me. Now if those three examples I just named doesn’t show you heart, then I don’t know what does.

In almost everything, you get what you put in. Stone Cold and The Rock paid these dues. Barely have gas or food money, but look what they became. All of what I’m saying may fall on deaf ears, but think about it. If guys hide to “grind” and hustle like that of the stars of yesteryear, the product today, would certainly, be much different.

Until next time. God bless, and keep your Pimp Hand Strong.
-Pokerface

About Terrence Ward

I began my career in professional wrestling 2006 as a cameraman. I would pay my dues setting up rings, cleaning up after shows, and setting up anything and everything. Here we are in this present time and I am an Multi-Time Announcer of the Year with great relationships with pro-wrestlers across the nation. I strive for success and provide my opinion to help those who need it.

Posted on March 10, 2013, in Sponsored Links. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

