The Straight Flush with POKERFACE

The Title Picture

I’ve actually had this conversation recently with some colleagues. The discussion was about how many championships should a company have and what’s an appropiate name for a championship.

First, the number of championships in a company. I wrestled for Windy City Pro Wrestling for a few years. The company had 11 championships,. Most of which were for specific weight classes. I under their logic, but I feel it was overkill. In my opinion, most independent companies need only one main championship. It needs to be the focal point and the proverbial brass ring of everyone on the roster. Now if you have an extremely large roster, it’s sensible to have a secondary title, ie..the WWE Intercontinental and US Titles. I’m not totally against tag team championships, but I feel that you must at least have 4 tag teams in a company to make the division somewhat competitive. When it comes to a women’s division, same as the tag team division, have a least 4 women to be able to compete for it.

Now it’s time to talk about the name of the championships. Nothing I hate more than a small independent company, that only runs in only maybe two towns, that call their main title the ”World Title”. In my opinion, in order to have world title status you must either defend the title in another country or have foreign contenders come in to challenge. I feel an indy title should be named in accordance to the area or region in which the events are held. I also don’t think any title should have a name that limits it’s competitors, such as weight class. The only exception to a name limitation would be the women’s title. Before the WWE World Heavyweight Title was created, the top title was and still is known as the WWE Championship. The company in which I wrestle the ”brass ring” is officially called the Tri-States Championship. There is no weight or gender limitation. My goal is for it to be able to be defended in Mississippi, Tennessee, and Arkansas.

In a month’s time, I’ve already defended it in two of those states. Who knows, I may defend it in Alabama, and it will be known as the Quad-States Championship.

Until next time, God bless and keep your Pimp Hand Strong.
-Pokerface

About Terrence Ward

I began my career in professional wrestling 2006 as a cameraman. I would pay my dues setting up rings, cleaning up after shows, and setting up anything and everything. Here we are in this present time and I am an Multi-Time Announcer of the Year with great relationships with pro-wrestlers across the nation. I strive for success and provide my opinion to help those who need it.

Posted on March 11, 2013, in Sponsored Links, Uncategorized, Wrestling. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

