Rudy Boy Speaks

Entitlement runs rampant in the independent wrestling circuits around the country. It goes from ring announcers to talent, to fans… I’ve even seen the concession stand guy make an opinion on varies topics of ‘Pro Wrestling’. My, yes I said ‘my’, business is by no means perfect. Which business is?

Probably the most successful wrestling company today gets a ton of criticism on how horrible they are, but yet they run EVERY Monday and Tuesday night a TV taping that is seen by hundreds of thousands if not millions of people. The talent is some of the highest paid guys around. They run in the biggest arenas, not pool halls or VFW’s or the local rec center. Oh, I said ‘talent’… Some of those guys have none. Or do they?

And the same people that criticizeo, try and copy what they see on TV. Take the term like ‘Diva’. When was that ever used in the wrestling circles prior to WWE using it. I’ve seen promotions spend thousands of dollars on lights, but yet the ring is falling apart, or the pay envelope is very light.

Indy promotions have guys passing out ‘Talent Relations’ cards. They have ‘writers’. Really?

I understand the ‘imitation is the best form of flattery’

Another kicker is indy promotions booking ‘TV stars’ to boost attendance. I’ve done it as well. But it was after a couple of experiences of the TV guys expenses, fees travel, hotel, advertising, not equalling the additional ticket sales that I realized, it really didn’t make sense. Add that to the TV guys wants to always win, I have just about stopped putting over the TV guy and concentrate on the local talent.

WWE Wrestling is a different deal than your local indy promotion. It’s like Apples to Oranges, Night and Day, Black and White. Promotions that try and copy that product fail miserably.

For indy promotions, it all starts with your product that is in the ring. Period. Not the lights, not the entrance, it’s what’s in the ring. The fans know your not World Wrestling anything. So stop insulting them with the ‘World Champion’ titles.

Solid matches always works. And work a match. Find out what makes your crowd tick. Doing a 100 spots in :20 isn’t ‘working’. It’s just another form of calling it in.

And keep this in mind… everything can be worked. EVERYTHING

Thank You
Rudy Boy Gonzalez
Rudy@thetboneeffect.com

About Terrence Ward

I began my career in professional wrestling 2006 as a cameraman. I would pay my dues setting up rings, cleaning up after shows, and setting up anything and everything. Here we are in this present time and I am an Multi-Time Announcer of the Year with great relationships with pro-wrestlers across the nation. I strive for success and provide my opinion to help those who need it.

Posted on March 16, 2013, in Sponsored Links, Uncategorized, Wrestling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

